The NEXus Executive Committee is comprised of one representative from each Academic Collaborator Member Institution as well as a representative from the lead organization, the Western Institute of Nursing. Officers are elected to the Executive Committee.



Rebecca Benfield, CNM, PhD
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Clementina D. Ceria-Ulep, PHD, RN – Past Chair
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Becky Christian, PhD, RN, FNAP
University of Kansas

Kristin G. Cloyes, PhD MN, RN
University of Utah*

Sandra Daack-Hirsch, PhD, RN, FAAN
The University of Iowa

Kathy Dunemn, PhD, APRN, CNM-BC
University of Northern Colorado*

Ellen D’Errico, PhD – Chair Elect
Loma Linda University

Stephen H. Hernandez, PhD, RN
University of New Mexico

Emily J. Jones, PHD, RN – Vice Chair
The University of Oklahoma

Jacqueline Jones, PhD, RN, FAAN
University of Colorado Denver*

Tara Spalla King, PhD, RN – Secretary/Treasurer
The Ohio State University

Pauline Komnenich, PhD, RN
Arizona State University

Beth Mastel-Smith, RN, MS, PhD, FNGNA – Chair
The University of Texas at Tyler

Gail Oneal, PhD, RN
Washington State University

Austin Nation, PhD, RN
California State University, Fullerton
Western Institute of Nursing Representative

Jo L. Robins, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, AHN-C, FAANP
Virginia Commonwealth University

Doria Thiele, PhD, CNM, RN
Oregon Health and Science University*

* Founding member institution of the NEXus Collaborative